First Sight (Poem)


Outside the blue four-cornered room;
where I stand, waiting for
half an hour to pass by,
To finally enter into it

These small round pieces
perfectly fit these ears
Has brought good melody
and peace of mind in my well-being

These tired eyes of mine
Shall never explain
The weariness of my soul
Or better, my journey.

And I tell you the truth,
Never have I felt such surround-stopping
Inexplicable goose-bumping smile
in a while anymore

For this mind has finally
Reach its peak of limitation
That chemicals have completely
lack its details to produce such

In an unexpected moment
when these eyes sincerely met yours
as you stretch those lips and lift those brows
My whole-being began to freeze

Unexpectedly I began to witness
surround-stopping, heart-melting
eye-staring, butterflies-flying
that chemicals began to increase inside me

And since that day on,
in my head you’re never gone,
I see those eyes, it’s never done
I see the smile, it’s a different one.

Written by: Justine Balsamo

Title suggested by: Pauline Nombrez Martinez

Leave a comment